Loading Events
01 Feb
  • This event has passed.


Teej festival is celebrated every year in the month of Shravan, the festival signifies the importance of rain as well as for the married women and unmarried girls observed the day as auspicious and they worship the day seeking good fortune for their partners. The Teej festival is primarily celebrated in the areas of Rajasthan, Punjab, Bihar , Uttar Pradesh etc. Fasting, colorful costumes, religious processions, folk songs and dances are striking all the region throughout the day.

Time of Festival:

Teej festival is held on the third day of bright half of Shravan month ever year ( July- August)


There are three kinds of Teej that are celebrated within the year in different parts of the country.Kajari Teej,Hariyali Teej and Hartalika Teej are the three forms Teej celebration that are equally celebrated on their specific dates. Kajari Teej is most important among the married women who observed a full day long fast for the well being of their husbands. Among the rituals, Neem trees are very remarkable during the day,beneath them women observed a combined pooja where women and young girls in colorful clothes take turns in swinging while many other women sing and dance on folk themes. Songs sung during the rituals included the welcome notes for the monsoon rains and have the presence of eternal love of Lord Krishna and Radha. Though the songs based on God Krishna but according to the mythology the festival hold the significance from the Shiva Purana where Lord Shiva and Parvati reunited after the long distant separation.


1 February
12:00 am
Event Categories:
, , , , ,



Upcoming Events

  1. Bihu Festival

    15 January @ 12:00 am - 15 March @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  2. Rajim Kumbh Mela

    10 February @ 12:00 am - 24 February @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  3. Khajuraho Dance Festival

    20 February @ 12:00 am - 26 February @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  4. Central Excise Day

    24 February @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  5. Bhavnath Fair

    25 February @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  6. Goa Carnival

    25 February @ 12:00 am - 28 February @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  7. Vishu Festival

    25 February @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  8. Natyanjali Festival

    27 February @ 12:00 am - 3 March @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  9. Natyanjali Dance Festival

    27 February @ 12:00 am - 3 March @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  10. National Science Day

    28 February @ 12:00 am UTC+5