Loading Events
16 Sep

Introduction:

Pitr Paksha in India is observed as the most ideal occasion when the people commemorate their ancestors and deceased ones. The occasion continues for a fortnight which usually comes in the month of September every year and follows various rituals which are performed with great dignity and commitments in order to keep the spirits of ancestors blessed and gratified.

Time to Celebrate:
2016-09-16 to 2016-09-30
Pitr Paksha is held in dark fortnight of Bhadrapad falls in between the month of September and October.

Description:

According to the mythological belief in Hinduism that deceased ancestors from Lord Yamaraja’s region visit their homes on earth during this time.Therefore to please and satisfied them various traditional rituals are performed in the names of the departed in the many holy Ghats spread across the country.The Brahmins help the people to perform the holy rites.Food,clothes with other offerings are provided to the Brahmins and poor in religious belief that these all goes to satisfy the deceased and will make them free from boundations of life cycles.Though this festival is celebrated throughout the India but different states celebrates the occasion in their own traditional way in different names but ultimate purpose remains the same everywhere.

 

16 September (Friday) Purnima Shraddha
17 September (Saturday) Pratipada Shraddha
18 September (Sunday) Dwitiya Shraddha
19 September (Monday) Tritiya Shraddha, Chaturthi Shraddha
20 September (Tuesday) Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
21 September (Wednesday) Shashthi Shraddha
22 September (Thursday) Saptami Shraddha
23 September (Friday) Ashtami Shraddha
24 September (Saturday) Navami Shraddha
25 September (Sunday) Dashami Shraddha
26 September (Monday) Ekadashi Shraddha
27 September (Tuesday) Dwadashi Shraddha
28 September (Wednesday) Magha Shraddha, Trayodashi Shraddha
29 September (Thursday) Chaturdashi Shraddha
30 September (Friday) Sarva Pitru Amavasya

Details

Start:
16 September @ 5:00 am
End:
30 September @ 5:00 am
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
, , , , ,

Venue

Indian Festivals
India India + Google Map

Leave A Comment

Add

 

Upcoming Events

 
  1. Navakhana Festival

    13 September @ 5:00 am - 30 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  2. Onam Festival

    14 September @ 5:00 am - 24 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  3. Bera Utsav

    15 September @ 5:00 am - 30 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  4. Sair Festival

    15 September @ 5:00 am - 30 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  5. Pitru Paksha Festival

    16 September @ 5:00 am - 30 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  6. Vallarpadam Perunnal Fair

    16 September @ 5:00 am - 24 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  7. Vishwakarma Jayanti

    17 September @ 12:00 am UTC+5
  8. Ram Barat Festival

    17 September @ 5:00 am - 22 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  9. Aranmula Vallamkali Jayanti

    18 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5
  10. Kisan Mela

    20 September @ 5:00 am - 25 September @ 5:00 am UTC+5